Search
Live prices for any book from 17+ Online BookStores   How does the price comparison work?

The Heavy by Dara-Lynn Weiss

Posted on January 23rd, 2013 by in Diet & Weight Loss, Memoir

The Heavy by Dara-Lynn Weiss is a story of hope, success, bravery and the unconditional love of a mother for her daughter.

When a doctor pronounced Dara-Lynn Weiss’s daughter, Bea, obese at the age of seven, the mother of two knew she had to take action. But how can a woman with her own food and body issues – not to mention poor eating habits – successfully parent a little girl around the issue of obesity?

In this much-anticipated, controversial memoir in the vein of Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother and French Children Don’t Throw Food, Dara-Lynn Weiss chronicles the struggle and journey to get Bea healthy. In describing their process – complete with frustrations, self-recriminations, dark humour, and some surprising strategies – Weiss reveals the hypocrisy inherent in the debates over many cultural hot-button issues: from processed snacks, organic foods, and school lunches to dieting, eating disorders, parenting methods, discipline, and kids’ self-esteem.

Compounding the challenge were eating environments – from school to restaurants to birthday parties – that set Bea up to fail, and unwelcome judgments from fellow parents.

Childhood obesity, Weiss discovered, is a crucible not just for the child but also for the parents. She was criticized as readily for enabling Bea’s condition as she was for enforcing the discipline and, yes, the deprivation necessary to address it. Never before had Weiss been made to feel so wrong for trying to do the right thing.

The damned if you do/damned if you don’t predicament came into sharp relief when Weiss raised some of these issues in a Vogue article. Critics came out in full force, and Weiss unwittingly found herself at the centre of an emotional and highly charged debate on childhood obesity.

BookOffers.com.au – Requesting prices




Bookmark and Share

Comments are closed.

Archives

Full Archive

Favourite Links

Tag Cloud

Adventure Art Australia Australian Kindle Biography Cookbooks Cooking Crime Culture Dan Brown Danielle Steel Di Morrissey Fantasy Fashion Food Health History James Patterson Kindle Life Love Memoir Murder Mystery Nature Photography Politics Power Recipes Relationships Science Sex Society Sport Staff Picks Stephenie Meyer Stieg Larsson Style Thriller Top 10 Travel Twilight Series Various War Wellbeing